Relativistic nanophotonics

The project is supported by the Swedish Research Council (VR)

Description:
Our ambitious objective is to push the frontiers of the shortest electron bunches by combining cutting-edge instrumentation and leading expertise in laser, plasma and optical physics. We will develop a fundamentally new source of electron bunches with properties tailored by our unique high intensity laser system, delivering quasi-single optical-cycle pulses that irradiate nanometer-sized targets. These targets will be positioned in vacuum without mechanical support using an optical trap and active stabilization. In order to understand the target suspension and the electron dynamics, state-of-the-art simulations will be performed.

Groundbreaking results are expected, among others entering the attosecond regime with relativistic electrons. This will open the way for novel time-resolved photography of electron dynamics, and for attosecond x-ray generation, with application in light-driven electronics, bio-medical structure determination, and next-level temporal metrology.

Fig. Illustration of relativistic nanophotonics. An ultra-intense and short laser pulse (red) irradiates a nanomaterial (bright white spot) and generates electron bunches and X-ray radiation (blue) with attosecond duration.

​​Participants:
University of Gothenburg : Dag Hanstorp, dag.hanstorp@physics.gu.se
                                                Javier Marmolejo, javier.marmolejo@physics.gu.se

University of Gothenburg : Mattias Marklund, mattias.marklund@gu.se
                                                Arkady Gonoskov, arkady.gonoskov@physics.gu.se
                                                Thomas Blackburn, tom.blackburn@physics.gu.se
                                                 Julien Ferri, julien.ferri@physics.gu.se
                                                Shikha Bhadoria, shikha.bhadoria@physics.gu.se

Umeå University : László Veisz, laszlo.veisz@umu.se
                                Roushdey Salh, roushdey.salh@umu.se
                                Aitor De Andres Gonzalez, aitor.de.andres@umu.se

Publications:
Javier Tello Marmolejo, Benjamin Björnsson, Remigio Cabrera-Trujillo, Oscar Isaksson, and Dag Hanstorp; Visualization of spherical aberration using an optically levitated droplet as a light source;  Optics Express, Vol. 28, 30410 (2020).

https://doi.org/10.1364/OE.402759

J. Götzfried, A. Döpp, M. F. Gilljohann, F. M. Foerster, H. Ding, S. Schindler, G. Schilling, A. Buck, L. Veisz, and S. Karsch;  Physics of high-charge electron beams in laser-plasma wakefields, Phys. Rev. X 10, 041015 (2020).

https://journals.aps.org/prx/abstract/10.1103/PhysRevX.10.041015

Qingcao Liu, Lennart Seiffert, Frederik Süßmann, Sergey Zherebtsov, Johannes Passig, Alexander Kessel, Sergei A. Trushin, Nora G. Kling, Itzik Ben-Itzhak, Valerie Mondes, Christina Graf, Eckart Rühl, Laszlo Veisz, Stefan Karsch, Jessica Rodriguez-Fernandez, Mark I. Stockman, Josef Tiggesbäumker, Karl-Heinz Meiwes-Broer, Thomas Fennel, and Matthias F. Kling; Ionization-Induced Subcycle Metallization of Nanoparticles in Few-Cycle Pulses, ACS Photonics, 7 (11), 3207-3215 (2020).

https://doi.org/10.1021/acsphotonics.0c01282